Turmeric Coriander Bread with Seeni Sambol

May this special day of Wesak, which celebrates the day of birth, enlightenment and death of Buddha, bring you peace!

Nil manel

Blue water-lily – the national flower of Sri Lanka

I am sharing this post on Angie’s challenge for this month with my recipe for turmeric coriander bread filled with seeni sambol. Ever since I started baking last year, I have found that I enjoy baking different types of bread. One of my favourite and successful breads is rosemary olive oil bread (recipe source: Jessie@A Hint of Honey). Using her recipe as a base, I have sometimes played around with herbs to make different versions of the bread and today, I would like to share my Sri Lankan twist to this bread.

Turmeric bread

Turmeric Coriander Bread with Seeni Sambol

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: average
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • Flour – 2 to 2 ½ cups, approximately
  • Turmeric – 1 tsp
  • Coriander – 2 to 4 tbsp fresh coriander leaves (as per your taste) or 1 tsp dried powder
  • Pepper – pinch
  • Salt – ½ tsp
  • Sesame/ Gingelly oil – 2 tbsp
  • Warm water – 1 cup
  • Sugar – 1 tbsp
  • Yeast – 2 tsp
  • Seeni Sambol – recipe provided in this post

Method:

  1. Stir in 1 tbsp sugar and 2 tsp yeast in 1 cup of warm water in a mixing bowl and let it sit for about 10 mins till it becomes frothy.
  2. Sift the flour and set aside.
  3. Add a cup of flour to the yeast mixture and add the salt, turmeric, pepper, chopped coriander or powder to the mixing bowl.
  4. Mix well before adding the sesame oil and add the remaining flour ¼ cup at a time till the dough is formed. Knead for a few minutes till it is smooth.
  5. Lightly dab the mixing bowl with a little oil and cover, leaving the dough to rise for about an hour.
  6. Transfer the dough to a floured surface and roll out the dough.
  7. Spread the seeni sambol mixture over the surface. Starting from one end, roll the dough into a log.
  8. You could leave the dough as a log or connect the ends to make a round bread or cut into 8 equal pieces. If you cut into 8 pieces, make each piece into a ball ensuring that the ends are closed and that the filling is not seeping out of the dough.
  9. Transfer the dough to a lightly greased baking tray. Cover and refrigerate till about 30 minutes before you plan to bake.
  10. Leave the tray out in the kitchen for about 30 minutes before brushing the bread with either a little melted margarine or dissolved sugar.
  11. Bake the bread at 175⁰C/340⁰F for 20 mins. Check at intervals as the baking time differs depending on the oven.
  12. Serve warm with a nice vegetable soup.


”Fiesta

27 thoughts on “Turmeric Coriander Bread with Seeni Sambol

  1. what a lovely twist, to make a savory bread! the filling sounds very tasty and versatile, almost like a chutney. I’m assuming seeni stands for sugar, what does sambol mean?

    • Thank you, Apsara. I made it for my mother and she liked it a lot. Yes, seeni is sugar and sambol is a kind of spicy chutney. Seeni Sambol (a delicious sweet and spicy onion dish) is a very popular Sri Lankan side dish. I have linked to the recipe of seeni sambol in a previous post.

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday Challenge #1 | The Novice Gardener

  3. I was thinking I’ve seen this before but can’t recall where or when. I think I would love this bread, judging from the ingredients alone. My mouth is watering at the thought of dipping this into a bowl of soup. Excellent recipe, Ahila! I have my work cut out for me; it’d be really hard selecting winners! 🙂

    • Thank you, Angie. It does taste great and this is one of the breads that my mother has requested me to make again which means a lot to me as it is very difficult to please her. While I like to think that I am the first to put together the turmeric-coriander combination with the seeni sambol filling, there might be others who have experimented with this combination 🙂

Leave a comment