Jackfruit Fritters

Earlier this week, I shared my mother’s recipe for jackfruit stir-fry. Today, I am sharing another one of her jackfruit recipes – jackfruit fritters. I am bringing a few over to Angie‘s Fiesta Friday #111, co-hosted by Naina and Julianna.
Jackfruit fritterGiven that I have been listening to mostly Sufi songs this week, I decided to share another Sufi song that I enjoyed listening to. This clip is also from MTV Coke Studio’s YouTube channel. The musicians are Ustad Raees Khan (sitar) and Abida Parveen.

Happy Fiesta Friday!

Jackfruit Fritters

  • Servings: 10
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • Jackfruit – ½ cup, finely chopped
  • Flour – ¼ cup
  • Onion – 2 tbsp, chopped
  • Chilli – 1 or 2
  • Breadcrumbs – 3 tbsp
  • Curry powder – 1 tsp
  • Pepper and Salt, to taste
  • Oil

Method

  1. Fry the chopped onion and chilli in a pan.
  2. Add the finely chopped jackfruit pieces to the pan and stir-fry until cooked.
  3. Mix the flour, breadcrumbs, curry powder, salt and pepper in a bowl.
  4. Add the fried jackfruit, onion and chilli mix to the flour mix.
  5. Prepare the fritter dough by adding little water to the mix.
  6. Divide the dough into 10 balls.
  7. Flatten each ball and deep fry, flipping over the fritters so that they are browned uniformly on both sides.
  8. Serve immediately with rice or on its own.

Recipe source: Raji Thillainathan.

8 thoughts on “Jackfruit Fritters

  1. I only discovered jackfruit recently after a friend who has moved to Malaysia said how much her kids liked it. Turns out I can get it here too and I really like it! This sounds an interesting way to cook with them.

  2. Thank you .Never tried or heard about BF fritters although originally from the South of SL the home of BF.Will try soon.Lovely music,relaxing and uplifting melody

    • I am sure you would not have heard of jackfruit fritters before, Chris, because it is my mother’s experimental creation 🙂 The traditional jackfruit stuff is polos embulla and kos melluma. Let me know how you liked the jackfruit fritter, when you try it.. you can also use breadfruit instead of jackfruit.

  3. These sound delicious Ahila! Love the use of curry powder! Jackfruit chips are my weakness, can imagine how good these fritters must taste 😀 Thank you for sharing at Fiesta Friday!!

Leave a Reply

