Breadfruit Fries

As I mentioned in my earlier breadfruit post, my mother tried out a couple of breadfruit dishes recently. I enjoyed the breadfruit curry but I enjoyed more the breadfruit fries she made. So, this weekend, I’d like to share my mother’s recipe for breadfruit fries and bring it to Angie‘s Fiesta Friday #101, co-hosted by Jhuls and Mr.Fitz.
IMG_0072
I was listening to some Sri Lankan music this week and the song I am sharing today is from the recently released movie Ho Gaana Pokuna (translation: The Singing Pond), directed by Indika Ferdinando and lyrics by Kusumsiri Liyanaarachchi. The film won the Teacher’s Choice Prize in the Chicago international children’s film festival.

Have a lovely weekend!

Breadfruit Fries

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • Breadfruit – 1 cup, chopped
  • Onion – 1, chopped
  • Curry powder – 1 tsp
  • Ginger, garlic, to taste
  • Curry leaves
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Method

  1. Mix the chopped breadfruit with salt and pepper.
  2. Deep fry the pieces and keep aside.
  3. Chop 1 onion and lightly fry the onion with chopped ginger, garlic and curry leaves in a pan. Add curry powder and salt to taste.
  4. Stir in the deep-fried breadfruit pieces and mix well.
  5. Remove from heat and serve with rice.

Recipe source: Raji Thillainathan.

21 thoughts on “Breadfruit Fries

  1. I never heard this kind of treat – it sounds awesome. Thank you for sharing at this week’s FF and for bringing in some song with you. I hope you are enjoying your time and have a lovely weekend! 🙂

    • Hope you get to try out breadfruit sometime. Somewhat similar to jackfruit, if you have tried that but breadfruit is only cooked unlike jackfruit where the ripened ones can be eaten as a fruit.

    • Hi Angie! Yes, indeed… long time, no see but at least I made it back to the FF#101 🙂 I am good, thank you. I had gone back to university during the past year so didn’t have much energy left for my blog. Hope the new year has started out well for you and your family!

Leave a Reply

