Pulukodiyal Candy

Wishing you all a happy New Year! (the Sri Lankan New Year, or more precisely the Sri Lankan Buddhist and Hindu New Year)

For today’s recipe, I decided to share a non-traditional New Year recipe. Something simple and tasty to make. My mother sometimes makes this candy when she receives too much of ‘pulukodiyal’ (sun-dried palmyrah root) from visiting relatives from the north. I would like to share this with you today. Palmyrah root is full of calcium and therefore considered nutritious in the north of Sri Lanka where it is harvested regularly.

DSC01287

Sliced sun-dried palmyrah root

Today, I would like to feature songs from two music groups that I have enjoyed listening to occasionally during the past decade. I was introduced to Il Divo’s music in a surreal setting in early December 2004. I was travelling on work to the north of the country and as the vehicle sped across dusty, remote roads, the radio belted out pop songs of the year. Suddenly, the powerful operatic voice of the four broke through the stifling heat surrounding the landscape we passed through. It was a special experience. The first song that I share here is the song that I listened to that hot afternoon over a decade ago.

The second is by Celtic Woman. Not sure how I came across their music but I did somewhere along the past decade. I liked their songs to the extent that I went for their concert when they performed at Theatre Royal Drury Lane in November last year. It was a fun experience.

Hope you enjoy the two songs and do try out the candy, if you happen upon some dried palmyrah root!
DSC01300
Wish you the best for the New Year!

Pulukodiyal Candy

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 10 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • Sliced ‘pulukodiyal’ – 1 cup
  • Roasted gram – 2 tbsp
  • Sugar – ¼ cup
  • Water

Method:

  1. Let the water and sugar simmer till it thickens into a syrup.
  2. Add the roasted gram and pulukodiyal and stir well, before removing from heat.
  3. Let it cool and the candied pulukodiyal is ready for eating.

Recipe source: Raji Thillainathan

8 thoughts on “Pulukodiyal Candy

    • Hi Indu, I was home for the Easter break so had some time to post. Thank you for the New Year wishes (our New Year is celebrated on both 14th and 15th)… Happy Vishu!

    • Do not know of any substitute for palmyrah, Annie, but there are already candied roots there – candied ginger etc. The taste and high nutrient content of palmyrah root is unique.

    • Thank you, Linda 🙂 They are very crunchy. I am not sure if the candied version of palmyrah root is simply my mother’s creation. While boiled or dried palmyrah root is very common in north Sri Lanka, I have not seen candied root outside of my home.

Leave a Reply

