Semolina and Coconut Sweets

I wanted to make some Sri Lankan sweets this month. As I was browsing through some Sri Lankan food sites, I came across one that I wanted to try out. Coconut rocks are quite popular in Sri Lanka and are sold in most shops as well as occasionally made in homes. I decided to slightly adapt this recipe of Dhanish @My Sri Lankan Recipe, which merges semolina with the traditional sweet. I am bringing these scrumptious sweets to Angie’s Fiesta Friday.

DSC01346Today’s music features some Grammy award-winning musicians from Mali. I have a couple of friends who are huge fans of music from Mali, which is how I was introduced to some of the music I am sharing here.

The first music clip features Toumani Diabate and Ali Farka Toure.

The second clip is a music video by the group Tinariwen. They performed at the recent London jazz festival.

The last clip for today isย a music video from Amadou and Mariam.

Enjoy the music while trying out a piece of the semolina and coconut sweet!

DSC01347

Semolina and Coconut Sweet

  • Servings: 12
  • Time: 60 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • Semolina – 150g
  • Coconut – 50g, grated
  • Coconut water – 4 tbsp
  • Sugar – 4 tbsp
  • Cardamom – 1 tsp
  • Kesari powder – pinch
  • Almonds – 1 tsp, chopped
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
  • Cream or condensed milk (vegans can substitute with non-dairy cream) – 4 tbsp

Method:

  1. Heat the coconut water and sugar together over low heat until it thickens.
  2. Then add the semolina, while continuously stirring.
  3. Once all the semolina has been added and the mixture starts to thicken, add the fresh, grated coconut.
  4. Mix well and add the cardamom, kesari, chopped almonds and vanilla essence to the mix.
  5. Finally stir inย the cream or condensed milk before removing the pan from the heat.
  6. Transfer mixture to well-greased tray and let the sweet cool before slicing and serving.

Recipe adapted from My Sri Lankan Recipe

13 thoughts on “Semolina and Coconut Sweets

  1. It looks super yummy, Ahila, love this kind of dessert ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for sharing the videos. Love the sound of the Cora, I suggest you to listen Tourรฉ Kunda, my favorite song is “Salya”, it reminds me my years in Africa… Have a wonderful weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #47 | The Novice Gardener

  3. hi Ahila love this coconut sweet! In India too we make something similar called as coconut barfi. I found this recipe interesting since you also added coconut water. That must give it a real coconutty taste! Lovely! Btw haven’t seen you in a while – how are you doing? I have also been busy hence have been missing posts by my friends unfortunately! Happy Fiesta Friday to you and happy holidays! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Indu, I love coconut sweets as well but usually we don’t add semolina to it. I used coconut water simply because I had to use up a litre of it before the expiry date ๐Ÿ™‚ Coconut water does enhance the flavour but the surprising fact I found was that when I used it to make muffins, it gives a very soft texture to the muffin which I loved. I am doing well, thanks. I have not had as much access to my mother’s recipes as I used to as I am currently away from home and will be for 2015 as well. However, I am trying to share a recipe at least once a month. Happy Fiesta and happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

