Mango Chutney

During a recent visit of my father to Jaffna, he brought back some mangoes from my mother’s childhood home. My mother said that the particular mango tree had been planted by her father. As the mangoes were half-ripe, cooking mangoes, my mother decided to make some chutney out of them. This is a simple, quick to prepare chutney. I have shared earlier a mango chutney recipe that my mother makes when she wants to store the chutney for a few days. I am sharing this instant mango chutney recipe with the Fiesta Friday group as well.

DSC01208Continuing with the theme of featuring south Indian singers whose voice I have enjoyed and appreciated along with the recipes this month and next, today’s featured musician is another of my mother’s favourite singers – renowned south Indian singer K.J.Yesudas. A classical trained musician, he began his movie playback singing career in the early 1960s. Yesudas is said to have sung and recorded over 50,000 songs over his five decade career in most Indian languages as well as foreign languages such as Arabic and Russian. I do not know how he managed the volume because it roughly translates to about 1000 songs a year. He was awarded the Padma Shri (1975) and the Padma Bhushan (2002) by the Indian government.

While selecting Yesudas song clips to share here, I decided to share first an excerpt from one of his older classical concert clips as he is foremost a classical Carnatic musician and I like his Carnatic music repertoire better than his songs for movies.

The second song is from the 1968 Malayalam movie Bharymar Sookshikkuka. This clip is a live performance of K.J. Yesudas with Chitra and Sujatha.

Wrapping up today’s music selection, the last clip is from a very famous popular Tamil song of Yesudas from the 1992 movie Mannan.

Hope you enjoyed the voice of K.J. Yesudas and do try out this chutney!
chutney

Mango Chutney

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • Mango – ½ cup, half-ripe
  • Onion – ¼ cup, chopped
  • Crushed chillies – 1 tsp
  • Sugar – 1 tbsp
  • Salt, to taste
  • Oil – 1 tbsp

Method:

  1. Clean and chop up the half-ripe mango. Rub in a little salt and allow it to marinate while you do the next step.
  2. Heat a tbsp oil in a pan. Temper the chopped onion and crushed chillies for a couple of minutes.
  3. Add the chopped and salted mango to the pan together with a tablespoon of sugar. Mix well and let it cook for a couple of minutes.
  4. Remove from heat and transfer the pan contents to a food processor and grind it.
  5. This simple mango chutney is nice on a sandwich.

Recipe source: Raji Thillainathan

38 thoughts on “Mango Chutney

    • Yes, Linda, I agree the Onam festival song is delightful. While I enjoyed all three, my favourite clip is the first as I am a fan of Carnatic music and I consider Yesudas one of the best Carnatic vocalists.

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #20 | The Novice Gardener

    • Yes, my grandmother’s home has a lovely backyard filled with interesting trees like mango, pomegranate, guava and gooseberry. I always used to enjoy my visits there when I was a child. Happy fiesta and a wonderful weekend to you too, Kaila! 🙂

  2. I picked up some mangos this week, now I have the perfect use for them! Fantastic recipe. Happy Fiesta Friday! 🙂

  3. I love that you have a family mango tree – amazing really. The chutney sounds lovely too and I like the first track – my mum would have called it a bhajan – I think…it really reminds me of her and I have so enjoyed having it playing in the background as I visit everyone! Thanks so much for sharing!

    • As a huge fan of Carnatic music, I am delighted that you enjoyed the first track. Have a lovely weekend and happy friday fiesta, Selma! 🙂

    • Thank you, Julianna! 🙂 Hope you enjoy the music as well and do let me know which clip you enjoyed the most of the three. Have a lovely weekend!

    • Thank you, Prudy 🙂 Happy to hear that you enjoyed the music clips. The instruments, in the first clip, are typical south Indian musical instruments that are used mainly in Carnatic music.

    • Thank you, Angie! 🙂 Did you enjoy the Carnatic music clip of Yesudas? He is considered one of the best vocalists in classical south Indian music.

    • This mango chutney is also different to the one my mother generally makes… this is rather her instant version when she is making just a little chutney. And, glad to hear from another Yesudas fan… Have a lovely day, Chitra! 🙂

Leave a Reply

