Sweet Yoghurt Rice

It is nice to have something sweet to welcome the weekend. So, today’s recipe is sweet yoghurt rice, a very easy and yummy dish to make. It has been a long time since I participated in one of Angie’s Fiesta Fridays so I am sharing this post in Fiesta Friday #15.

Sweet curd rice

Today’s featured music is of a special percussion group called Elephant Foot.

The first piece that I am sharing here, Rainforest, is what caught my attention some years ago. Since then, I have kept my ears open for more of their music. So far, they have released three albums.

The second is from their most recent album – Elephant Foot.

Enjoy the drum beats of Elephant Foot/ Hikkaduwa drummers as you tuck into this delicious treat!

Sweet Yoghurt Rice

Time taken: 25 mins

Serves 3

Yoghurt riceIngredients:

  • White raw rice or Basmathi rice – 1 cup
  • Yoghurt – ½ cup
  • Raisins – 2 tsp
  • Nuts (any) – 2 tsp
  • Banana – ½ or 1, sliced
  • Honey or coconut treacle, as required

Method:

  1. Boil the rice and let it cool.
  2. Whisk the yoghurt well to make it creamy. Fold in the raisins and chopped nuts.
  3. Little by little, add the rice to the creamy mix.
  4. Chill for at least 5 mins.
  5. Serve with banana slices and drizzled with honey or coconut treacle.

Recipe source: Raji Thillainathan.

30 thoughts on “Sweet Yoghurt Rice

  1. This looks just like rice pudding, Ahila. Which I love, btw. Except with yogurt instead of milk. Coconut treacle sounds like some kind of amazing syrup. Will have to see if I can find it here.

    • Coconut treacle is nice as is the kithul (palm) treacle. There is an online store selling some Sri Lankan products in the US. I found the brand that I usually buy here on the niwasa.com site (just go towards the bottom of the page to see the product and do check out the kithul products as well).

  2. I have not tried eating rice with yogurt, but I guess this sounds really good. And with the addition of banana slices? I bet it’s more yum! 😉

    Thanks for bringing this and for sharing these music to us! Have a lovely weekend! ❤

    • Do check out niwasa.com (I found this online store that sells some Sri Lankan products, including coconut and its more famous cousin – the kithul – treacle, around the US)

  3. This sounds very much like the rice pudding of my youth. Though back then, my grandmother used milk instead of the yogurt. Your recipe sounds deliciously inviting, Ahila!

    • Thank you, Nancy. My mother started mixing yoghurt to make a more instant version of rice pudding and the recipe has stuck since 🙂

  4. Hi Raji! So lovely to meet you here at FF 15! I am absolutely loving the music you have posted – love a bit of percussion and this is perfect for Fiesta! Coconut treacle sounds delicious too – a very nice version of rice pud but with yoghurt instead – YUM! Welcome to the party – hope you get a chance to meet all the other revellers and make new friends! Selma 🙂

    • Hi Selma! I will be sure to convey your message to my mother, Raji, who is the main source of the recipes I post on my blog 🙂 Glad to hear that you enjoyed the Hikkaduwa drummers’ music! /Ahila.

    • Hi Indu, rice with curd and pickles is the more traditional way to eat. My mother tends to mix stuff around and usually they stick around 🙂 The past week or so, I have been listening to a lot of Sri Lankan music so I felt I might as well share them in this Sri Lankan-themed blog.

  5. Looks delicious, Ahila. I love a good rice pudding, and your recipe is intriguing because it uses yogurt instead of milk. Thanks for sharing, and I too had to find coconut treacle!

    • Thank you, Ngan. I like rice pudding as well and I guess this is the more instant version of it 🙂 You can always substitute coconut treacle with any other treacle that you like.

  6. Oh, I am so glad you joined our Fiesta Friday party and delighted to have found your blog. I do not know much about Sri Lankan cuisine so I can’t wait to read around your blog. And thank you for this wonderfully simple yet delicious rice dish!

Leave a Reply

