Spicy Carrot Curry

I was a finicky eater growing up – and one of the vegetables that I couldn’t stand for many years was carrots, particularly steamed carrots, which happened to be my mother’s favourite. Until one day, surprisingly, I started liking them. I now particularly like the smell of fresh carrots.

Today’s recipe is that of my mother’s spicy carrot curry.

Spicy carrot currySpicy Carrot Curry

Time taken: 20 – 25 mins

Serves 4

DSC00836Ingredients:

  • Carrots – 2, medium
  • Onion – ½
  • Ginger  – a small piece
  • Garlic – 2 or 3 cloves
  • Fenugreek seeds – 1 tsp
  • Curry leaves – 1 sprig
  • Green chilli – 1
  • Thin coconut milk – ¾ cup
  • Curry powder – 1 tsp
  • Salt, to taste
  • Low fat oil – 1 tbsp

Method:

  1. Clean the carrots, peel and chop them.
  2. Heat 1 tbsp oil in a pan over low heat and fry the fenugreek seeds and chopped ginger, garlic and onion for a min.
  3. Then, add the chopped carrots, curry leaves and chopped green chilli and continue frying for another 5 – 7 mins. Add a little oil if the carrots or onions start burning.
  4. Add the coconut milk to the pan, together with the curry powder.
  5. Cook for about 10 mins over medium heat. Add salt, to taste.
  6. Garnish with coriander and serve with rice.

Recipe source: Raji Thillainathan.

6 thoughts on “Spicy Carrot Curry

    • Hi Bihara, Please click on the link to the curry powder recipe that I have included in the recipe above. It is my mother’s recipe for her curry powder.

  1. Weird this thing that we only develop a tadte for certain things after hating them at first. I only started eating asparagus in my late 20. Now I can’t stop!

    • I agree 🙂 In my case, I stopped hating any veggies after three years eating residence hall food at my undergraduate university. The food was always under or over-cooked and absolutely horrible. After that experience, I developed a healthy respect for any home-cooked food and never fussed over any vegetables.

Leave a Reply

