The start of the blog

During the month of July, I was focusing on Indian cuisine and set myself a challenge of cooking a dish from each of the 28 states of India. As the challenge comes to an end this weekend, I thought of doing the same for Sri Lankan cuisine. However, my online searches did not provide me much choice and certainly not comprehensive enough to cover the cuisine in different parts of Sri Lanka.

While Sri Lanka is a small island nation and the staple food is rice and curry, the cooking does differ from region to region and sometimes household to household.

So, I decided that I would invite my friends to send in one or a few of their favourite recipes, particularly if it was a recipe of their mother or father or grandparents, and where possible, the district the recipe is from.

This blog is dedicated to Sri Lankan homecooking.

Leave a Reply

