The key ingredient of curries – the curry powder

The curry powder is a key ingredient of curries in Sri Lanka, similar to the sambhar powder, garam masala, dhansak masala etc. in India. Each home usually has their own version of what works for them.

So the very first recipe for this blog is my mother’s curry powder blend.

Amma’s special blend curry powder:

Ingredients

  • Dried red chillies – 100g
  • Coriander seeds(Kothumalli)  – 100g
  • Cumin Seeds (Sinna seeraham/ Suduru)  – 50g
  • Fennel seeds (Perunjhseeraham/ Maduru) – 50g
  • Fenugreek seeds (Venthayam) – 25g
  • Pepper – 10g
  • Curry leaves – ½ cup
  • Turmeric – 1 piece or 1 tsp (if powder is used)
  • Cinnamon – 2” piece
  • Cardamom – 4 or 5
  • Cloves – 4 or 5

Method

  1. Chop up the dried red chillies and dry roast them. Keep aside.
  2. Dry roast the curry leaves separately and keep aside.
  3. Dry roast the balance ingredients together.
  4. Combine all and grind them together to make the curry powder mix. Store in an airtight container to use when needed.
  5. The ingredients can be scaled up for the desired quantity.

Recipe source: Raji Thillainathan.

7 thoughts on “The key ingredient of curries – the curry powder

  1. Raji thank you for your easy to follow recipes. I am trying to learn the Jaffna Tamil dishes because the generation of people who knew the recipes are no more. So thank you very much for sharing. Maha Sripathy

  2. Pingback: Sri Lankan Curry Powder |

  3. Pingback: Wattakka Kalu Pol – Sri Lankan Red Pumpkin Curry | ãhãram

  4. Hi Ahila, How are you? Its been a while! Hope you are doing well. I have chosen Sri lanka for my next ‘Around the world’ series! I was looking for Sri Lankan spice blends and noticed this post of yours. I followed your mom’s recipe making some changes since I wanted to have a recipe by volume vs weight. But wanted you to know it came out great.! I will be posting that soon. Also let me know if you will be interested in doing a guest post for my series? if you don’t have time I could reblog one of your older posts. lmk. Best regards, Indu

    • Hi Indu,
      Yes, its been quite a while… (sorry, I just checked my blog and saw your comment) haven’t been able to be as active on the blog as I was in previous years. However, trying to share at least one recipe per month these days 🙂

      Nice to hear about your next ‘around the world’ series… As much as I would love to do a guest post, I am currently unable to so please feel free to reblog one of my older posts.

      Hope all is well with you and wish you the best for the New Year!

      • ok no problem Ahila. I will re-blog a couple of your posts. Busy baking holiday treats right now will get back to Sri Lankan in the new year! But believe me I have been really drooling looking at all the recipes I see 🙂 Definitely want to visit SriLanka some day.! Happy Holidays to you.

  5. Pingback: Around the World #3: An Intro to Sri Lanka and a curry powder recipe | Indu's International Kitchen

Leave a Reply

